The Indiana High School Equivalency Diploma

Indiana offers adults the opportunity to earn a state accredited High School Equivalency Diploma by successfully passing the TASC (Test Assessing Secondary Completion) Exam.  The TASC exam is similar to the GED exam in that applicants must meet a minimum score on five different subject sections including Math, Language Arts (writing), Reading, Science, and Social Studies. 

The TASC exam is offered two times per month at Northview Middle School (8401 Westfield Blvd., Indianapolis 46240), once in the morning and once in the evening.  The testing takes place over two days, approximately 4 hours each day. All applicants must register in person at the Northview location prior to testing.  Test registration is $95 and all applicants must present a state-issued form of identification. 


All applicants are encouraged to enroll in Adult Basic Education classes prior to testing. 

The High School Equivalency (HSE) Diploma is now earned by taking the TASC test and not the GED.  Indiana switched from the GED test to the TASC test in 2014.  When you take and pass all 5 sections of the TASC test, you will receive a High School Equivalency Diploma, which is equal to a High School Diploma.  If you do not pass a subtest, but pass other sections, you only retake the test for the subjects that were not previously passed. 

There are 5 subtests on the TASC test:

  • Math

  • Language/Writing

  • Reading

  • Science

  • Social Studies


For more testing information, you can visit

Phone: 317-259-5275

© Copyright 2023 by Elementary school. Proudly created with

Northview Middle School NW Door #4 

8401 Westfield Blvd.

Indianapolis, IN 46240